top of page

We’re excited to announce the second annual Advocating for Children Together Conference – a collaborative effort between pediatricians across the Bay Area organized by California Chapter 1, American Academy of Pediatrics (AAPCA1) and sponsored by:

  • Kaiser Permanente

  • San Francisco Marin Medical Society (SFMMS)

  • Sean Parker Center at Stanford for Allergy & Asthma Research 

  • Center for Care Innovations








Topics will include structural racism, health disparities, poverty, educational equity, voting access, and much more! 


If you are asking yourself, "What can I do?", join us to learn skills, strengthen your network and connect to avenues for creating change. Come be inspired to speak up and speak out as influencers for child health! 


You will be learning from advocacy extraordinaires as we come together to better serve the children and families from the Bay to the borders and beyond!

The day will begin with a series of “Ted Talk” style lectures that provide brief overviews of important areas for advocacy and empower pediatricians to effectively message advocacy efforts, harness the power of social media, and collaborate with others for children’s health issues. In the second half of the conference, participants will break into smaller advocacy workshops led by AAP leaders to gain a deeper understanding of specific advocacy areas of interest and gain an opportunity for hands-on practice of advocacy skills. ​​

Our vision with this conference is to create a community of pediatricians who are engaged and equipped to influence child health policy. It will provide a networking opportunity for physicians to follow each other on various social media platforms, collaborate on op-eds, spark new research ideas that will influence policy decisions, and inspire others to speak up and become change-makers. We hope you will join us!

This year's Theme: COVID 19 & Health Equity

Registration closes Sept 8th

planning committee

Advocacy Committee Co-Chair

Heyman Oo

AAP Chapter 1 Executive Director

Isra Uz-Zaman

Focus Group Planning Leaders

Casey Brown

Kris Calvin 

Diane Dooley
Sara Schear
Renee Wachtel
Alexandria Valdrighi
Vini Vijayan

Planning Committee

Reshem Agarwal

Simran Behniwal 

Sabah Elias 

Stephanie Fong Gomez 

Zarah Iqbal

Raul Gutierrez

Anna Kaplan

Lisa Patel  

Priya Pathak 

Hannah Perrin

Nora Pfaff

Sohil Sud

Yasamin Vafai

Geena Zhou

bottom of page