We’re excited to announce the inaugural Advocating for Children Together Conference – a collaborative effort between pediatricians across the Bay Area organized by California Chapter 1, American Academy of Pediatrics (AAPCA1) and sponsored by:

  • UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals

  • Department of Community Health and Engagement at UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital Oakland

  • California Wellness Foundation

  • Stanford Children's Health/Lucile Packard Children's Hospital

Join us in learning from advocacy extraordinaires as we come together to better serve the children and families from the Bay to the borders and beyond!

The day will begin with a series of “Ted Talk” style lectures that provide brief overviews of important areas for advocacy and empower pediatricians to effectively message advocacy efforts, harness the power of social media, and collaborate with others for children’s health issues.  In the afternoon, participants will break into smaller workshops led by local experts in politics, public health, and mass media to gain hands-on practice.


The day will end with a social hour and reception during which conference participants may continue to connect with fellow child advocates, as well as utilize skills learned throughout the day to build relationships with and discuss child health issues with invited elected officials.


Our vision with this conference is to create a community of pediatricians who are engaged and equipped to influence child health policy. It will provide a networking opportunity for physicians to follow each other on various social media platforms, collaborate on op-eds, spark new research ideas that will influence policy decisions, and inspire others to speak up and become change-makers. We hope you will join us!

planning committee

Executive Committee

Stephanie Fong Gomez

Annie Kaplan

Lisa Patel


Promotional Committee

Billy Burrough

Allison Coleman


Speakers Committee

Hannah Perrin

Heyman Oo

Vivien Sun


AAP Advisors

Kris Calvin

Isra Uz-Zaman

Workshop Committee

Simran Behniwal

Raul Gutierrez

Hannah Keppler

Nora Pfaff

Lena Rothstein

Sohil Sud

Zarah Iqbal


Logistics Committee

Celeste Allen

Cameron Donald

Betsy Hayes

Kamaal Jones

Zarin Noor

Vania Singleterry

Nia Stallworth

Sara Szkola

ACT Logo.jpg

Advocating for Children Together